Help with structuring a collection of poetry – software?

Posted: søndag 14 mars, 2010 by Tarald in Writing in general
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I’ve been searchin the net for a long time without luck. So I’m hoping someone reading this blog have good ideas and recommendations. I am not sure if I need a dedicated software or just an application to Open Office.

What I need help with:

  • creating a list of short texts, preferably from the first line (my poems usually have no titles, usually don’t rhyme and is very short)
  • linked to the actual text
  • enable me to see a preview of the text (readable) without opening every document (if every poem has its own document) or use an extremely large letter size.
  • In the actual text I need to be able to format it like I do in Open Office or Word. The line spacing is especially important.
  • I would really love it if I also could tag my poems with themes and select every one with the same tag at once and move them.

I can’t find anything like that. It is possible that such a software do exist, maby made for another purpose, and that I just don’t realize that it can do the things I like it to. Please tell me!

Kommentarer
  1. Ainslie sier:

    You could try this. It’s called Verse Perfect.

    http://www.bryantmcgill.com/Free_Rhyming_Dictionary/

  2. Tarald sier:

    Thanks for the tip!
    I have now found what I was looking for, or as close as I think I can get:
    Treepad Lite
    http://www.treepad.com/treepadfreeware/
    It is very small and simple and can work from a memory stick.
    It is free!
    It lets me organize all my poems in one file, each poem in its own «article».
    No slow opening of lots of documents to see a four line poem.
    Easy drag-and-drop function.
    OK export options.
    I love it!

    The one thing I haven’t tested yet is how it prints. No catastrophe if it doesn’t print well; I could always export it into another format and print it from there.
    On the downside is that it has no tag-option, but I have solved it by adding my tags below the poems. The search function works perfectly, so it won’t be a problem.

    I really recommend it. It is so simple you can probably turn it into whatever you want. And it is free.

Legg igjen en kommentar

