And they ask what's wrong with USA?

Posted: søndag 11 mai, 2008 by Tarald in GLBT, My transition, Positive masculinity
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This is the moving story of the last months of Robert Eads’ life. He died of ovarian cancer because hospitals refused to treat him. Why? He was a transsexual, a FTM just like me. His story makes me very happy to live in Norway, where I don’t have to pay for my medical treatment and where I will not be turned down because of my biological history (at least as long as I’m white – see the horrible story of Ali Farah). To get registered legally as male, I have to get my overaies removed. Although I believe it should be elegible (forced sterilisation is something that don’t belong in an enlightened, modern society), I’ll be happy to get rid of them.

Southern Comfort (1999) – In Memory of (FtM) Robert Eads

Kommentarer
  1. […] Dangerous Sunburn wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt […]

  2. punkfairy sier:

    Its insane. Even in Sweden gynecologists are weird. I was told they didnt want people like me there. Of course, it was a «womans» clinic, but.. Im pre everyting. I shouldnt matter.

  3. punkfairy sier:

    Its insane. Even in Sweden gynecologists are weird. I was told they didnt want people like me there. Of course, it was a «womans» clinic, but.. Im pre everyting. It shouldnt matter.

  4. genderoutlaw sier:

    Thanks for posting this. I have wanted to see this film for some time, and now more than ever.

    Simply put, all of those doctors and hospitals who denied treatment to Eads violated medical ethics. Here’s an updated Hippocractic Oath, Good Medical Practice, note the last section about discrimination.

    Unfortunately, it’s becoming more and more common for doctors to allow their religious and personal beliefs to compromise patient care, and those who are female-born tend to be the most common victims.

    Certainly, steer clear of Catholic hospitals if you can: In the US, every Catholic hospital is bound by the ethical directives of the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops, which forbid all sorts of things, such as the use of condoms for HIV prevention!

Legg igjen en kommentar

