Society of Friends – Finding my religion?

Posted: fredag 28 mars, 2008 by Tarald in GLBT, philosophy, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I’m very excited! This weekend I’ve managed to organize a retreat with the Quakers/Society of Friends here in Tromsø. It’s gonna be real interesting and hopefully thw Society will provide me with a home for my religious belief.

I’ve been a member of the Norwegian Church all my life but  I’m finding it more and more unfulfilling and less satisfactory. I’m tired of fighting the right-wing and do not believe in the sacraments any more, at least not the baptism of children. My father is a reverend there, and I’m rebelling against the thought that any individual is closer to God than any other just because of it’s education and occupation.

So it’s not far fetched to think that the Quakers would be my cup of tea. In addition, I find the thought of «that of God within us all» very empowering and true. They are also the only christian society who want to marry gays. I don’t want to fight to get into a church with all of myself. I just want to find a place where I can have peace with God and a community that respects me. I don’t think that’s too much to ask for. I want to find a society of friends and hope I’ve found it.

Kommentarer
  1. Ray sier:

    I shall look forward to hearing about your experience of the Quaker retreat. I hope you find a home with them.

  2. punkfairy sier:

    Interesting. I will be reading your blog of faith. I’m not sure if Im religious myself, but the Quakers sounds very interesting.

  3. Shannon Mujls sier:

    It sounds as if you need to make sure that you are attending a liberal Quaker meeting.

    Orthodox Quakers (traditional American Quakers) are Christian and find the bible to be the divine inspired word of God. I don’t think that marrying gays would be welcomed.

  4. Tarald sier:

    Fortunately for me, the Society of Friends in Norway are not the othodox type.

    I certainly believe the Bible to be inspired by God. But I don’t think God stopped communicating with humans 2000 years ago. The Bible is, in addition to being inspired by God, written by humans just like us; with their flaws, raised in a society and a time that made it’s marks on them.

Legg igjen en kommentar

